Patience 1978

We’re currently looking for more information about this show. If you were part of this year, we would love to hear more about this production to add to this page! Contact us

This was the 6th Main Show performed by the society.

To go to the gallery for this production follow this link: Patience 1978 Gallery

Gilbert & Sullivan Society Committee 1977/78

Honorary President: Donald Adams


Patience Crew:

Director: Ann Burdett-Smith

Musical Director: Ken Roberts

Producer: Debbie Keiter

Technical Director: Stu Conney

Technical: Mike Blakestone

Make-Up: Nicky Swallow, Jo Tabbard, Gordon James, Hilary Nye, Janette Swindell, Helen Barrington, Denise Craig, Caroline Trimnel & Kim Osada

Wardrobe: Susan Lightly

Publicity: Julia Adams, Kester Armstrong, Debbie Keiter & Susan Row

Poster & Programme Cover Design: Sarah Harris

Prompter: Sally Milton

Front of House: Trudie Berger, Paul Burnett, Karen Cochrane, Charles Durrant, Alison Firth, Steve Goldsmith, Sarah Gray, Jane Hobbis, Mary Jo Laird, Steven Mees, Dave Parker, Barry Rawlings, Barbara Sherratt, Jane Sinson, Ursula Wadey, Lyne Walker & Ivona Zajac.


Patience Cast:

The Lady Angela: Sarah Harris

The Lady Saphir: Anne Watkins

The Lady Ella: Christine Foster

The Lady Jane: Ishbel Herd

Patience: Ruth Roberts

Colonel Calverley: Christopher Rees

Major Murgatroyd: David Baines

Lieut. The Duke of Dunstable: Christopher Jackson

Reginald Bunthorne: Simon White

Archibald Grosvenor: Malcolm Chase

Mr Bunthorne’s Solicitor: Paul Pascoe

Chorus of Rapturous Maidens and Officers of Dragoon Guards: Julie Adams, Sarah Adie, Jane Alker, Helen Appleby, Kester Armstrong, Nigel Avery, Ian Bracey, Phillipa Bristow, Anne Brittain, Susan Carey, Irene Carruthers, Helen Clayton, Brian Fitzjohn, Richard Forrest, Kate Gibbon, Andrew Hannan, Jane Holloway, Maggie Leonard, Susan Lightley, Susan Loftus, Robin Reynolds, Susan Row, Denise Rowley, Ross Underhill & Paul Wilkinson.



Flutes: Simon Clarke & Helen Sykes

Oboe: Christine Zuch

Clarinets: Mary Phillips & Elisabeth Garrett

Bassoon: Joan Glasby

Trumpets: Tim Jones & David Mowat

Trombones: Gary Buckett & Stuart Wilson

Percussion: Tina Cooke

Violins: Wayne Buzzani, Simon Raynor, Brian Thorne, David Woodhouse & Mike Machin

Violas: Deborah Conroy & Clare Harris

Bass: Asha Elfenbein

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s